Music Monday: Lana Del Rey (2.7.12)

Image

A bunch of my friends have been posting Lana Del Rey videos on Facebook and reblogging her songs on Tumblr lately, so I thought I’d look into the hysteria. I wasn’t thoroughly floored or amazed. I feel like I should be gushing about her, but she just didn’t have that kind of effect on me. Her videos are very creative and interesting, I’ll give her that. She’s also a sight for sore eyes.

I’ll be straight with you- I absolutely can’t stand the “Born To Die” song. It was actually painful to listen to, I didn’t even get through the whole song. “National Anthem” was also a letdown. However, I really took a liking to “Million Dollar Man,” “This Is What Makes Us Girls” ”Blue Jeans” and “Video Games.”

Lana Del Ray is just okay to me, I don’t know. She’s not extraordinary or anything, I think there are loads of other female artists who deserve recognition far above her. I listened to all of Born To Die on YouTube and I wasn’t impressed. I’d give it 5/10 stars. Maybe my expectations were too high? She has a nice voice, it just sounds so monotone and boring in most of her songs. I gave her a chance, but I don’t know if I’m willing to keep trying, I’m so disappointed. I have very open ears too…She’s just not my cup of tea, I suppose.

Oh, well, some were just born to die.

Do yourself a favor and listen to Dia Frampton’s version of “Video Games”, it sounds soooo much better than the original. Dia is incredibly talented.

Leave a Reply

