The rabbits are us. (October 2010)

Today, during English class I had the weirdest epiphany. I was just sitting there, spacing out as always because Mr. Carr transitions from one topic to the next at light speed, when suddenly something clicked in my head. If anyone has ever seen Donnie Darko and watched the deleted scenes, there’s this one scene where Donnie is watching a movie about a group rabbits who are about to die. Donnie’s teacher expects the class to be sad and depressed, but Donnie is the opposite, saying that he can’t pity the death of something that doesn’t even fear death itself. The rabbits live without the realization of the end. For some reason, I finally understood this concept today. It would have made more sense if this thought came to me a few weeks ago when Mr. Carr shared his philosophies on life and death and how living things are born and eventually die, but oddly enough, it clicked today. Why? I don’t know. Things like this come to me randomly. I wish I had someone to share these thoughts with on a regular basis- I love engaging in stimulating conversations.

Karen Pommeroy: This could be the death of an entire way of life, the end of an era…
Donnie: Why should we care?
Karen Pommeroy: Because the rabbits are us, Donnie.
Donnie: Why should I mourn for a rabbit like he was human?
Karen Pommeroy: Are you saying that the death of one species is less tragic than another?
Donnie: Of course. The rabbit’s not like us. It has no… keen look at something in the mirror, it has no history books, no photographs, no knowledge of sorrow or regret… I mean, I’m sorry, Miss Pommeroy, don’t get me wrong; y’know, I like rabbits and all. They’re cute and they’re horny. And if you’re cute and you’re horny, then you’re probably happy, in that you don’t know who you are and why you’re even alive. And you just wanna’ have sex, as many times as possible, before you die… I mean, I just don’t see the point in crying over a dead rabbit! Y’know, who… who never even feared death to begin with.


Leave a Reply

