Music Monday: 21 Throwbacks (6.4.12)

The 21 songs that played on the radio non-stop when you were a kid/pre-teen in the 90s-00s, but you know you’ll never get sick of. The boy bands and bubble gum pop artists today will never compare to what we had in the 90s. Sorry I’m not sorry.
  1. No More (Baby I’ma Do It Right)” by 3LW– Not gonna lie, I am still obsessed with this song. I still know every word of it by heart. This is my jam. (Can you believe they say hoes in this song?! I never picked that up as a kid…)
  2. Scrubs” by TLC- I think every girl should know the words to this song so they can recite them to a creep that’s hitting on them.
  3. All The Small Things” by Blink-182- I can always jam to this song. Any day, any time, anywhere. No matter who you are or what kind of music you’re into now, I bet you know every word to this track.
  4. Absolutely (Story of a Girl)” by Nine Days– Whenever I’m feeling blue, I play this song. The video was so intense with all the flooding water. Hahaha.
  5. Wannabe” by Spice Girls- I was obsessed with the Spice Girls when I was a tot. I had all of their movies/videos on VHS and their albums in casette form. This song is timeless though. It’s like an anthem for women everywhere.
  6. Us Against The World” by Play- Another guy bashing song. Love it. Tis a shame that Play didn’t last longer, all of their songs were super catchy.
  7. Aaron’s Party (Come Get It)” by Aaron Carter- I loved AC to the point where I thought I was going to marry him. It was unhealthy. Hahaha. I grew up thinking that parties were going to be exactly like this. Unfortunately, I was wrong.
  8. A Thousand Miles” by Vanessa Carlton- Girl or boy, you know all the lyrics and probably how to play it on the piano. Roll down the windows in your car and sing along with your friends. (As done in “White Chicks”.)
  9. Upside Down” by A*TEENS- “My grades are down from As to Bs/ I’m way behind in history”…they know our struggles. Hahaha.
  10. “S Club Party” by S Club 7- I listened to their music and watched their TV show not realizing that they were British.
  11. I’m Like A Bird” by Nelly Furtado- “I don’t know where my soul is/ I don’t know where my home is”…that’s so deep and relevant. I didn’t pick up on that before. This song is very empowering. This was before Nelly said it right and was promiscuous…
  12. Hey Baby” by No Doubt- This is the first No Doubt video I ever saw and ever since, I’ve loved them. This song is a classic.
  13. My Boo” by Alicia Keys & Usher- This song…how do I even begin? So what if I’ve never had a boo, I can still like this song. We didn’t even know what “boos” were back then.
  14. Incomplete” by Backstreet Boys- I know, you were expecting me to pick a track from the Millennium album. Well…surprise! Any time this song comes on, I don’t skip it, but rather, get into character as a serious person acting in a real life drama. Backstreet’s back!
  15. Tearin’ Up My Heart” by NSYNC- I always mess up the lyrics when I sing this song. I think it was very underrated.
  16. Scars” by Papa Roach- My designated PO’d song. Papa Roach knows my frustrations well. Hahaha.
  17. Irresistible” by Jessica Simpson- In the battle of the blondes, I was Team jessica. She was my absolute favorite. This song is relevant then and now.
  18. Escape” by Enrique Iglesias– This video was scandalous, this songs as sexy and Enrique Iglesias was muy caliente. This was the video that got me addicted to him as a young girl.
  19. Leave (Get Out)” by JoJo- I was such a JoJo hater when I was younger, but this song was my go-to guilty pleasure. I just couldn’t deny that catchy chorus and the chanted “leave”, “now”, “who” and “why” in the background. Hahaha. JoJo had so much swag and she was only 13 years old. Dayum.
  20. Candy” by Mandy Moore- Girl could sing, but man on man her dancing was bad. Hahaha. I’m glad she was always true to herself throughout her career. Typical 90s trends all up in this video.
  21. Why Not” by Hilary Duff- No list would be complete without my writing guru. She owned the new millennium. Choosing between all of Hilary Duff’s amazing hits was the toughest challenge of them all, but this is the one song that I can listen to over and over and again on repeat. It puts me in a good mood no matter what!
Leave a Reply

