Books I always travel with.

You’d think that all a writer needs is a notebook and a pen, but in this day and age, that’s no longer the case! Seeing as to how I’m still a college student, I constantly need to keep myself organized so I can manage my time better. These are the things that I simply cannot live without on a day-to-day basis!

“Breakfast At Tiffany’s” is one of my favorite films. Knowing this, my Mom brought me the notebook for my 19th birthday. I haven’t written in it yet, but most definitely will soon! Audrey Hepburn is one of my idols. Not only is she the epitome of class and elegance, but she did her part in giving back to the world as an active member of the UNICEF organization. The Hep didn’t get caught up in the dame of being a celebrity in Hollywood. She did what she loved and lived a happy life. What a gal.

This “Carpe Diem” journal found me yesterday in Georgetown. I was browsing through a book section and out of nowhere I spotted the golden “carpe diem” script in the corner of my eye. I couldn’t deny this beauty, “carpe diem” is my life motto! Coincidence that the notebook is Tiffany blue?

A few years back, my Mom gave me this handy dandy notebook. There are always books I want to read, but ultimately forget about so this is extremely convenient. In my younger days, I used to write lists of books I wanted to read on post-it notes and stick them all over my desk. Needless to say that was an inefficient system. The nice thing about the “Books To Checkout” notebook is that there are 3 sections within it: (1) Books To Read (2) Favorite Books/Passages” and (3) Books Borrowed/Lent.

“think, write, create” is yet another gift from my Mom. She saw this daily planner in a magazine article about a writer and thought I’d find it useful, which I have! It has a monthly calendar, checklist, weekly plan, and notes. Without planners, I honestly have no idea what’s going on in my life. Sure, I remember dates for the really important events, but with so much going on, I need it written down somewhere so I can look back on it.

And of course, I always try to have a book to read thrown in my bag if it’s large enough. Right now I have to finish reading “The Lucky One”. Next, I will tackle “Never Let Me Go”!

Leave a Reply

