Music Monday: All Time Low (6.18.12)

On June 1, All Time Low released a brand new single, “The Reckless and The Brave” on their website for free. The reaction from fans was overwhelmingly positive and zealous.

Could they be headed in the direction of their old ways as heard on Put Up and Shut Up or So Wrong It’s Right?

It’s too early to say, but after dropping their contract with Interscope records, the band is currently unsigned. The lyrics have more meaning than anything written on the last record, that’s for sure. Word on the street is that All Time Low is recording with Blink-182 member Mark Hoppus.

Alex Gaskarth (lead vocals, rhythm guitar), Jack Barakat (lead guitar, back-up vocals), Rian Dawson (drums) and Zack Merrick (bass, back-up vocals) formed the pop punk band when they were in high school. In 2004, they distributed their first EP The Three Words To Remember In Dealing With The End. 

Throughout their high school career, the band toured throughout the U.S. in a van with their parents. This exposure gained a lot of attention and soon enough, All Time Low had a strong following and support. (It’s safe to say they never could have imagined what that the “Hustlers” would turn into.)

After they graduated from high school in 2006, All Time Low signed a record deal with Hopeless Records and released the Put Up or Shut Up EP. Their first album, So Wrong It’s Right (2008) made a debut on TRL.

The boys haven’t grown up much since they graduated, seeing as to how they are notorious for their on-stage dick jokes, sexual innuendoes, and immaturity. But the fans love them for it. As Gaskarth says, “We don’t offer you any solutions, but hopefully a minute to escape.”

The band that had once opened up for so many others was now headlining their own sold-out shows and arenas in the U.S. and internationally, as well as bigger events like AP Tour, Glamour Kills Tour and Bamboozle Roadshow.

In 2009, All Time Low came out with another album, Nothing Personal followed by Dirty Work in 2011. On various social media and interviews, members of the band have confirmed that their new album will be released sometime this year.

In the meantime, All Time Low is one of the headliners on the Vans Warped Tour this summer. Go check ’em out! I promise, it’s worth the teeny bopper crowd.

Lyrics to “The Reckless and The Brave” are below:

Long live the reckless and the brave,

I don’t think I wanna be saved,

My song has not been sung.

So long live us.

Looking out at a town called Surburbia,

Everybody’s just fighting to fit in little rats,

Running mazes, having babies it’s a vicious little world, that we live in.

Looking back at a life on the other side,

I realize that I didn’t fit in,

Didn’t hate it but I didn’t quite relate it, to my precious little world.

So long live the reckless and the brave,

I dont think I wanna be saved, my song has not been sung.

Long live the fast times, so come on, may I,

I don’t think I’ll ever be saved,

Our song has not been sung.

Long live us.

Breaking out of a town called Surburbia,

I remember everybody always saying, “little brat must be crazy, never make it, in our vicious little world”.

Still I’m leaving. 

Got a van, got a chance, got my dignity,

Got a dream, got a spark, got somewhere to be.

Take a breath, say goodbye to their precious little world. 

So long live the reckless and the brave,

I don’t think I wanna be saved, my song has not been sung. 

And long live the fast times, so come on, may I,

I don’t think I’ll ever be saved, our song has not been sung.

Long live us.

Long live us.

Long live the reckless and the brave,

I don’t think I wanna be saved,

My song has not been sung

Long live the reckless and the brave,

I don’t think I wanna be saved,

My song has not been sung.

And long live the fast times, so come on, may I,

I don’t think that I’ll ever be saved,

I know our song has not been sung.

Long live us, long live us.

Leave a Reply

