Firefly

If I were a lightning bug, I’d be the one trapped inside the glass jar. Theoretically speaking, I am outside with all the other fireflies, flying around, but there’s still something restricting me. Of course, the jar was created by my own mind- it is a metaphorical figment of my imagination that I willingly flew into- but I allowed it to shut me in and keep me there. And now, I can’t find my way out. I’m stuck inside this glass jar all by my lonesome, forced to sit and gaze at the magnificent world around me. But if the top on that jar vanished, would I? I don’t know the answer to that question anymore. I have found comfort inside of this jar. It is consistent unlike all the other bugs whizzing around me, coming and going, but never staying. I’m lighting up, but attracting no one.

Leave a Reply

