Chick-fil-gAy

Originally, I never intended to write a negative post about Chick-fil-A, but with the recent news coverage, I find it necessary to put in my two cents regarding the issue. (Or lack thereof rather since I will most likely be boycotting Chick-fil-A.) As we all know, Chick-fil-A’s company executive, Dan Cathy spoke out against supporting same-sex marriage. Most people already knew that Chick-fil-A was a mildly homophobic establishment, but it had never been revealed in the media to the public until last week. I would also like to point out that the Chick-fil-A company is known for following the Christian faith so none of this should come off as a surprise. Everyone is entitled to their own opinion, and as a writer, I am an advocate for freedom of speech. However, when the words spewing out of your mouth are coming from a place of intolerance, hatred or prejudice, sometimes I wish there was a real life mute button. If only Dan Cathy could have kept his mouth shut, then I wouldn’t have to feel guilty for pulling up at their drive-thru! It’s not how he said it, but what he said.

Since I was a kid, I loved eating at Chick-fil-A. It has been my favorite fast food restaurant for years- in fact, it’s the only one I willingly allowed myself to go to. But as a supporter of equality for everyone, that means that I support gay rights. I believe that all minorities should considering the rights their predecessors fought for in terms of acceptance and equality. Now let’s say that Chick-fil-A wasn’t homophobic, but they were racist. If that were the case, I would boycott them in a heartbeat and wouldn’t think twice about it. (I still refuse to shop at let alone step in Abercrombie & Fitch.) Gay rights are today’s Civil Rights. It’s difficult to separate a company’s product from the company’s beliefs. It’s like when one of your favorite celebrities is involved with a scandal or commits a crime- you don’t agree with their wrongdoing, but by continuing to support them does that make you a condoner?  I mean, this is a company that donated millions to anti-gay groups…that’s a huge red flag in my book. Perhaps I’m going too far with this statement, but I personally feel that giving an establishment that supports groups of this nature with profits from my business is practically like handing the white man rocks to throw at the blacks. Now that I am an informed individual who knows where some of their money goes, I no longer wish to participate in indirectly funding hate groups.

In response to all of the backlash, Chick-fil-A posted this on their Facebook page: “The Chick-fil-A culture and service tradition in our restaurants is to treat every person with honor, dignity and respect – regardless of their belief, race, creed, sexual orientation or gender.” As delicious as Chick-fil-A’s food is, I know that I have to resist it. Breaks my heart, but to continue eating there when I have gay friends and family would contradict everything that I stand for. Man, I’m going to miss those chicken nuggets and waffle fries…

Is Chick-fil-A an evil empire? Absolutely not. Are the tea party biggots taking things too far with the “buycott”? Absolutely. I call for a separation of church and plate! Let’s keep politics and religion out of our food.

Leave a Reply

