I have friends in bands PART 1: The Soviet

Don’t let the stereotype fool you- this Jersey band isn’t washed up and GTL’ing at the shore. Repping Blairstown, New Jersey, The Soviet consists of four members: Joshua Perna (vocals, guitar), Aaron Brown (lead guitar), Alex Long (bass) and Kevin Boris (drums). Originally labeled as alternative rock, the band’s sound has evolved, dipping into the indie pool this time around.

In February, The Soviet released the Wherewithal EP, debuting 5 songs. Last month, they dropped their first single, “Dialect“. On the evening of August 5, the band released a music video for their brand new single, “Monotony“. It’s a track that should definitely be added to anyone’s summer soundtrack with the season coming to an end. The Soviet’s self-titled EP is expected to be released online this month, following the EP Release Show on Thursday, August 9.

Although they’re at the early stages in their musical career, The Soviet is being heard, performing at about 40 shows in the tri-state area over the past 9 months. Show your support by spreading The Soviet’s music like cooties, liking them on Facebook and/or following them on Twitter!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s