We are the fortunate ones.

For quite some time now, I have been saving and collecting all of the fortunes I receive from fortune cookies. (Unless I deem them uber lame.) For years, I accumulated a small pile on my dresser, but recently, I decided that I should store them in a box of some sort. While I was rummaging through the cabinets in my family room, I came across my old Marie windup box! (I absolutely adored “The Aristocats” as a tot.) And alas, my fortunes have a new home! One day when I feel that I have enough of them, I am going to use them for some sort of an artistic project. I’m not sure what exactly yet, but I promise it will be super cool and creative!

Now, back to the fortunes…On Monday, I cracked out these two fortunes from my cookies. As of now, I can confirm that one of them could not have been more accurate because on Monday night, I got together with two of my dearest hometown friends for the season finale of “Teen Wolf”. (Which was AWESOME. Well done, Jeff Davis. I can’t wait for Season 3 in 2013!!! SAVE STILES.) On Tuesday, I gathered with a small portion of my concert crew for a few hours and made some new acquaintances! And next week, I return to AU and will be reunited with all of my friends!

As for the romance fortune, I WISH. Hahaha. But who knows, maybe there’s someone waiting for me in Georgetown…(Or maybe I’ll be pleasantly surprised on one of my 5 remaining days in town? Yeah right!)

This being my last week in my hometown and all, I am trying to spend as much time with the people who matter most to me. That means my family and close friends. If the rest of the lot don’t want to make an effort to see me, off with their heads! The one thing I learned this summer is that if people aren’t making you a priority in their life, they aren’t your true friends. People I never expected to step up and be there for me these past 3 months have been and I have never valued their friendship more than I do now. The rest continue to disappoint me, but I have realized that I simply can’t rely on them anymore, and that’s the way the cookie crumbles.

Leave a Reply

