Thanks given for this break.

Today marks November 18th, a little over one month before the fall semester ends. It has been a long and tiresome four months here in The District, and it’s still not over yet. Leading up to tonight, the day before my departure, I can honestly admit that I need this break and time at home more than anyone right now. I am mentally, physically, emotionally and socially exhausted. In fact, I’m even taking a break from parts of the Internet. (I deactivated my Facebook account.) I want to go home and get away from all of this for a little bit. I’m looking forward to spending time with my family and friends in the suburban town that I often take for granted. And in March, I’m planning a mini-vacation for myself. So many spontaneous adventures in the works! The seesaw effect has definitely kicked into high gear.

Timing is everything in this universe. Life is not like the movies or TV sitcoms we obsessively wrap ourselves up in. It’s complicated and nothing ever turns out the way you expect because it can’t be scripted. The outcome you want will not surface after the first draft. There are no re-writes, re-winds, fast-forwards, or out-takes. You can’t get a stunt double for something you dread. The only director on set is you, and the direction you choose to set off in will not be foreshadowed. Everything that happens is random, coincidental, and real.

Before I bid y’all adieu, let this quote marinate in your brains throughout the week, especially on Black Friday:

There are two things to aim at in life: first, to get what you want, and after that to enjoy it. Only the wisest of people achieve the second.” — Logan Pearsall Smith

Song of the day: The Shade of Poison Trees- Dashboard Confessional

Leave a Reply

