Are we RECording? hitRECord: On The Road (11.13.12)

Image

Last Tuesday, I had the pleasure of attending the first night of hitRECord’s On The Road Tour…WITH JOSEPH GORDON-LEVITT. (Last night the final stop was in Philadelphia, and I actually could have gone! Oh, well…) The event took place at the Warner Theatre on E Street, one of my favorite areas in D.C. It’s such an enchanting building from the outside in. The Warner Theatre is one of the most beautiful venues you will ever set foot in. The inside is gorgeous, draped in red velvet curtains, gold painted everything and twinkly lights. (You feel so fancy sipping water out of a golden fountain!) I ended up buying grilled cheese for $8, but it was definitely the tastiest grilled cheese I have ever eaten in my life.

Image

Going into The Warner Theatre with a few new friends, I didn’t quite know what to expect. I had an idea of what hitRECord was about, I even possessed “The Tiny Book of Tiny Stories,” but I still didn’t know how to explain it. In Regular Joe’s own words, this is the premis of hitRECord:
“HITRECORD.ORG is a project I started almost five years ago now, and in 2010, we evolved into a professional open collaborative production company. We create and develop art and media collaboratively here on our site. Even this introductory video is the remixed result of a great many contributions. So rather than just exhibiting and admiring each other’s work as isolated individuals, we gather here to collectively work on projects together. Videos, writing, photography, music, anything — we call them all RECords. Now and then, when I think something we’ve made has come out especially well, I approach the traditional entertainment industry to turn our work into money-making productions; and then we share any profits with the contributing artists.”

Image

What I paid for was an evening was filled with short films, dancing, singing, laughter…and Joseph Gordon-Levitt. Joe even brought random people from the audience up on stage and allowed them to speak about share stories about their lives, missions, dreams, thoughts, etc. Joe was highly interactive with his audience, and the passion he has for hitRECord was captivating. Not only did I feel more cultured and knowledgable by the end, but I left E Street feeling so inspired to get out into the world and do something creative. Joe said something along the lines of not wanting people to choose his career for him- he wanted to be in control of all aspects of his life, especially his passions. As a college student, I am constantly struggling to make this a reality. It’s hard when you’re balancing academic work with extracurricular activities, a part-time job and desperately searching and applying for internships. Sometimes, you feel like you have no control at all and the creative and motivated side of you fades. But Regular Joe is right- you can do anything that you set your mind to if you believe in yourself and your abilities. This is exactly what I’m going to do. I’m more driven than ever.

Image

These are all of my souvenirs from the show! In the lobby, there was a merchandise table filled with tons of hitRECord goodies! It was hard for me to choose which item to bring home, but under pressure, I couldn’t refrain from purchasing this cool hitRECord tote bag. Music is a huge part of my life, so the fact that I get to advertise it AND hitRECord on-the-go was a match made in heaven! The red RECORD buttons were free on the table, so I grabbed one. hitRECord vinyls were also on display- I totally forgot that hitRECord has an album and while I regret not purchasing it, I was delighted to find it on Spotify! It turned into the soundtrack for the rest of my week!

Image

Oh, and throughout this entire experience, I made a connection with six ladies who seem to be headed down the same road as me. It’s so rare for something like this to happen, and I’m not viewing it as coincidence. It was meant to be and now we’re on a mission to collaborate and spread the word! hitRECord is going to change the world, and we’re thrilled to be a part of it. More on that further down the road… :O)

End note: I just finished watching “The Dark Knight Rises” and it literally brought me to tears. Batman is my favorite super hero for a countless number of reasons, but more on that another time I suppose…JGL played a fantastic Robin, I hope Christopher Nolan will be further  developing that story line!

Leave a Reply

