Golden state of mind

There has been so much going on in my life that I haven’t had the time to blog about it! I can’t go into much detail at the moment because I’m still trying to figure stuff out, but a lot of exciting things have been presented to me! All I can say is, I’m going to have an amazing summer somewhere on some coast. Amidst all of this chaos, conflict and confusion, I have been stuck in a golden state of mind. When you embrace positivity, good vibes follow you. I wish I could catch everyone up on everything, but that would take far too long so here are the highlights of my past few weeks!

tumblr_miandqtr2s1qc1gcro1_500

After working at Urban Outfitters for almost SIX MONTHS, I finally got a performance certificate! Point for the Sydster.

Image

This lineup was too good to wait. Annie and I already bought our tickets and are ready to return to Merriweather and celebrate our birthdays! Only three more months…

tumblr_mi872cKP6R1qc1gcro1_500

My Mom is the cutest, she sent me a special Valentine’s Day care package! What’s the point of having a valentine if they won’t spoil you like your mother?

photo

tumblr_miokdlvtsr1qc1gcro1_500

As of late, I have been cooking breakfast for myself more often. This is definitely the healthier options as opposed to forcing questionable food from TDR down my throat.

Image

I haven’t used these notes enough. Time to change that, for the good of everyone.

Image

BEST. LINEUP. EVER. When I first saw the lineup last week, I literally screamed and danced around my room. A million thank yous to the music gods. Buying my pass during pre-sale was probably the smartest thing I have ever done, no joke. This summer is golden.

tumblr_miqtoskQXj1qc1gcro1_500

On Sunday afternoon, I met up with my friend Dianna at Bar Pilar on U Street. It’s a cool place, I highly recommend checking it out if you’ve got the time.

Image

While I was strolling down U Street, this vibrant sticker attracted my eye. In a matter of seconds, I was reminded of Philly and all of the LOVE statues.

tumblr_miqwvhhIhx1qc1gcro1_500

I bought this adorable dress from Buffalo Exchange in Logan Circle. It’s funny because I actually came across the same pattern at the Buffalo Exchange in Philly last summer, but the dress was a different style and way too big for me. Obviously, this was a sign and I couldn’t dismiss what I presumed to be fate.

tumblr_mir03lvdpm1qc1gcro1_500

To end our successful day, Dianna and I grabbed a bite to eat at Black & Orange, my new favorite burger joint. I’ve been cutting back on my red meat intake, but B&O grills a savory turkey burger! Watch out Shake Shack, you’ve got some competition…

tumblr_mivz0baZgd1qc1gcro1_500

Today, I wore my sweetest thrift find, a Roca Wear leather jacket! This jacket is actually something special because there are music notes and instruments sewn all over it. I have been wanting a camel colored jacket for a while now and this one happened to fall under my ideal shade. Additionally, it was hard to resist the temptation to buy when it cost a mere $8. I want to be a music journalist, and this jacket was practically calling out to me. It was a sign; it was meant to be mine. Today, I am werking and twerking it.

tumblr_miwd7sfylu1qc1gcro1_500

With a stressful week full of midterms and internship applications, I have been so overwhelmed and had to relieve myself somehow. For me, shopping is the best de-stressor so I gave in and ordered this awesome cat backpack (as well as a few other things). I am beyond excited to wear it around town once it arrives! CATS ARE COOL, DOGS DROOL.

tumblr_mimnlyrd1S1s6anuwo1_400

Last but not least, I am SO STOKED for Justin Timberlake’s new album, The 20/20 Experience. I can’t tell you the last time a pop album had me this pumped up. I’m praying that I can attend the Philly date of the Legends of The Summer Tour. It’s super expensive, but the way things have been going lately, I have a good feeling about it…

I’ll end this post with two of my fave jams this week! Tune into my radio show, Artificial Sweetener, at WVAU.org on Saturday @ noon-2pm!

Her heart sank into her shoes as she realized at last how much she wanted him. No matter what his past was, no matter what he had done. Which was not to say that she would ever let him know, but only that he moved her chemically more than anyone she had ever met, that all other men seemed pale beside him.”— F. Scott Fitzgerald, A New Leaf

Leave a Reply

