Soak Up The Sunday: California

I have been romanticizing about California ever since my earliest childhood memories. From what I can remember, I fell in love with the state when I was somewhere around six years old. Contrary to popular belief, it was more than Disneyland that attracted me. There was this sense of warmth that touched me beyond the rays of sunshine and the burning sand. The waves are chill, much like the people who surf them. It’s all about the vibe- when I think of California, I am filled with so much positivity. From that day forward, I was struck with a golden state of mind. Right now, I’m at a point in my life where I don’t see why I should fight my desires any longer. This is the time to be daring and take risks without costing myself anything but a few hundred dollars. I want this so bad and I have wanted it for so long. And I can have it. California, California, here I come… my time is now.

Don’t get me wrong, the east coast is great, especially for academics, but I’ve been here for so0o0o0o0o long! I desperately need a change of scenery. (Side note: Once I leave for the west coast, I’m probably not coming back, not for a while anyway!) No matter where you go, opportunity awaits, you just have to put yourself out there and find it! I have never felt more ready in my entire life- I’m itching to test the west! I have always been told by others that I have a west coast vibe about me- if that’s not a forecast of my future, I don’t know what is.

About this track: I love the original by Phantom Planet, but this one is ringing with nostalgia. Not only in regards to The O.C., but my life in general. Spring Break is so close, yet so far away and I am trying to hold myself together! I just need everything and everyone to chill out for a minute. But until then, I must werk and twerk! Besides, Friday night is gonna be poppin’ like pink champagne.

“Best way to live in California is to be from somewheres else.”― Cormac McCarthy, No Country for Old Men

Leave a Reply

