Throwback Tunesday: ROBIN THICKE- When I Get You Alone

I woke up this morning feeling touched by the blues. Thus, I thought some smooth R&B would satisfy my musical appetite. (Maybe it’s partly because I was so absorbed in my essay for my Evolution of Jazz & Blues class. I titled my paper “Is The Origin of Jazz A Black & White Affair?” IMO, it’s a winner.)

Anyway, I’m a huge fan of Robin Thicke as a musician and a person. This song goes waaaaay back before he chopped off his hair and showed everyone that he wasn’t the second coming of hobo Jesus. (Good job scoring him early on, Paula Patton. I’m taking notes from you, gurl.) A man like Robin Thicke has permission to get me alone any time.

Over the past few months, I have been listening to the band Rhye. I wouldn’t categorize them as R&B, but they hit those same smooth sensual notes. Rhye is a collaboration between music producers Mike Milosh and Robin Hannibal. Their music feels very intimate and romantic, oozing with the high level of passion that a girl has explicit fantasies about. (Think deeper than “Fifty Shades of Grey”.) Rhye’s debut album, Woman, has finally been released and I’m sorta kinda obsessed with it. Needless to say everyone now knows what will be blasting from my bedroom during the entirety of my Spring Break! Stream it right now on Spotify, I guarantee it’ll put you in a better mood than you are currently in. (Or it’ll make you wanna get down with someone…)

A few minutes ago, I looked up Rhye’s tour dates and they’re actually playing in DC at Sixth & I Historic Synagogue next month- guess who just bought a ticket without hesitation! I don’t think that their tour was formally announced so snag tickets while you still can if you’re interested in seeing them!

Leave a Reply

