Throwback Tunesday: Michelle Branch- All You Wanted

The Spirit Room may have been released way back when in 2001, but I am finding myself more connected to Michelle Branch’s music twelve years later. (Which totally makes sense since I was only 7 years old when she had maximum radio play.) Michelle Branch simply gets me, I don’t know how else to explain it. Her songs have this genuine rawness to them; her voice rings with honesty as she sings each word with meaning. There was more to her than the cute boho girl with an acoustic guitar singing about boys who broke her heart. Women everywhere need to take notes.

Sometimes, I feel like I have almost everything I’ve ever wanted, but I am still incomplete; I am an unfinished puzzle missing the final piece. At first, I was picking between “All You Wanted” and “Goodbye To You”, another personal favorite of mine, but this song describes the unresolved crisis in my life more so than the other. Being a single lady is fun for the most part, but it gets old year after year. Sometimes I just want somebody…who cares. Thank goodness I have my crew to get me through!

“So lonely inside/ So busy out there/ And all you wanted was somebody who cares.”

Leave a Reply

