Soak Up The Sunday: Don’t Know Why

I’m getting back into artists like Fiona Apple and Norah Jones again. I came across both women somewhere in transition from middle school to high school. The life of a teenage girl is the most intense roller-coaster ride I have ever been forced on. (You want the story? Buy the book! Name that movie…) Maybe they appeal to me now because I’m older and wiser. Aside from Apple and Jones’ moody music, I find myself more drawn to them because they are real women with powerful voices. I don’t know why I neglected their music for so long, but I’m making up for lost time now! (Rewind, I actually gave up my jazzy R&B roots when I succumbed to the “dark phase” of my teenage life, a period where I solely listened to alternative/rock/screamo.) I would love to see them both live someday, it would definitely be a profound moment in my life and an incredible experience. Totally adding that one to the list…

Tomorrow is the first day of April. I am officially on the verge of entering my roaring twenties, one of the best stages of a person’s entire life. The idea of it is so weird to me though. Mentally, I’m all for it. I have always viewed myself as more mature than most of the peasants in my age bracket, but I have also been told that I have an old soul. Physically, I don’t look like I’ve aged a day over 16 or 17. (I’ll be thankful for this later down the line.) But whether I’m ready or not, it’s going to happen anyway, so I might as well embrace this new age for all that it’s worth.

I am a woman. I have feelings. I have needs. I have wants. I have dreams. I have standards.  I AM WOMAN, HEAR ME ROAR.

“Be soft. Do not let the world make you hard. Do not let pain make you hate. Do not let the bitterness steal your sweetness. Take pride that even though the rest of the world may disagree, you still believe it to be a beautiful place.”- Kurt Vonnegut

Leave a Reply

