Soak Up The Sunday: Don’t Panic

With about two weeks left in the semester, it’s normal for me to freak out and panic every other day. This weekend, I ended up doing quite the opposite. It all felt so…college. And for once, it was really nice. Nothing else and no place else compares.

Image

On Friday night, I saw Lianne La Havas perform at 9:30 club. She was a breathtaking beauty, but the way she performed each song was simply amazing. And the crowd…that’s the type of environment I have always wanted to be in. I was surrounded by young, trendy, and artistic black people. These were my people. I couldn’t help but wonder where they’ve been all this time or rather, where I haven’t been. I need to get out more and explore, I really do!

Image

On Saturday, I spent the whole day off campus, out and about in D.C. with friends. In the afternoon, we went to a Radio Field Day at the National Mall and mingled with students from GWU, Georgetown and UMD. In the evening, I randomly wandered into Friendship Heights for dinner and dessert with some of my other friends. Overall, the whole day made me wonder why I haven’t been doing stuff this all semester. I’m not taking advantage like I used to last year. I still haven’t even gone monumenting, a typical tourist activity. I’m so preoccupied in my studies and extra curriculars that sometimes I forget where I am. D.C. is so beautiful.

Image

“The meaning of life is just to be alive. It is so plain and so obvious and so simple. And yet, everybody rushes around in a great panic as if it were necessary to achieve something beyond themselves.”- Alan Watts

Leave a Reply

