Soak Up The Sunday: The wasted years, the wasted youth.

Another week has come and gone. I’ve got so much going on that I don’t even know what I should be doing sometimes. I can’t get caught in the moment at all because the next one approaches almost immediately! As one door closes, another opens. And amidst this whirlwind of activities, I am on the brink of entering the horrid Finals Week. Stress stress, baby…

On Tuesday, I turn 20 years old. TWENTY. “No longer a teenager.”  I remember how I felt last year when I turned nineteen- To me, the number itself was irrelevant, merely an awkward filler year. But in the past year, I have changed so much, and so many lessons have been learned. This song captures my current state of being. I have never wasted a year in its entirety, only time. At times, I haven’t taken advantage of certain opportunities, but I have gained experience from it all, and I can’t say that I regret that. I am still the same person I have always been, but I am more mature now. So what’s age got to do with it? Absolutely nothing. I alter myself in one way or another almost every single day. I am ready for the next phase in my life though, whatever it ends up being and whenever it actually happens. Your whole life, everyone tells you about how your body will develop over time, but what about your soul?

“Adolescence didn’t make sense
A little loss of innocence
The ugly years of being a fool
Ain’t youth meant to be beautiful?”

Leave a Reply

