I Am Sold on James Blake.

On Sunday night, I had the pleasure of seeing the wonderful musician, James Blake. If you had asked me to go see him in 2011, I probably would have denied the request. Funny how so much about me has changed since I graduated high school only two years ago…

Image

James Blake put on one of the best shows that I’ve seen in a while, and considering the fact that I had attended the Sweetlife Festival the day before and was blown away by several performers, that’s saying a lot. He was absolutely sensational in every sense of the word. From beginning to end, I was hypnotized by him. The music possessed me and put me in a trance that made me unable to stop dancing! James plays with such conviction; he was so into his own music that we couldn’t help but reciprocate the gesture.

Image

I am so happy that I had this opportunity. I was so impressed by James and in complete awe and admiration of him the entire time he performed. He left me speechless and when it was over, I almost shed a few tears. In a way, this experience was life-changing- everything has come round circle and I feel a sense of completeness. I don’t really know how to explain it without telling the whole story of where and how it all began…

Image

Now, it’s time to talk about the significance of this CD. Before James’ set even started, it didn’t take long for me to realize that I absolutely had to purchase his debut album, regardless if it was signed or not. (All I had was a burned copy of it anyway.) This signed edition means so much to me now. It’s more than an autograph on the cover of a CD- it’s a signed copy by the artist of the first album I ever reviewed.

Image

 

I remember my editor handing me this burned CD- at the time, it seemed so insignificant to me. Who was this guy and why should I like him? The first time I listed to it, I was not a fan. In fact, I was confused as to why anyone could possibly enjoy listening to so much electronic noise. It sounded like robots were mating and then dying. But back then, “I didn’t really know what good music was”. Like so many others, I am not ashamed to admit that I honestly had no idea. So, I listened to the album over and over again for hours, and eventually, my mind registered that what I was hearing was…beautiful.

Unsure of how to write an album review, I threw a bunch of words together and called it a night. (Reading it now, I’m slightly embarrassed, but it wasn’t that bad considering it was my first review!) Ever since, I have not stopped reviewing music- it is one of my favorite past times. My career as a music journalist started with this man. I owe James Blake so much more than he will ever know. He and I have both come such a long way since 2011.

Leave a Reply

