Soak Up The Sunday: My So-Alt Life

All week, I have been tuned in to Blood Orange. This band is ridiculously underrated- the fact that I was able to find a brand new copy of Coastal Grooves in my local record store is both a luck of the draw and a disgrace. Me and Dev Hynes get along just fine and I have evidence to support my claim:

Screen Shot 2013-05-17 at 7.47.52 PM

This weekend, the weather was not in sync with my summery mood, but I still managed to have a good time at two of the most poppin’ punk events around: Skate & Surf Festival at Six Flags Great Adventure and the Punk Rock Flea Market in Philadelphia.

 942639_10151674989031388_916320912_n

Yesterday, I survived the disaster that was Skate & Surf Festival. When I wasn’t out in the crowd, reviewing band sets on all 5 stages in the miserable mist, I was hanging out with my concert cuties crew! (From L to R: me, Amanda, Monica and Brittany.) It’s been a while since I last went to a concert with them, so working the RAGGED tent was a great bonding experience! VIP is the way to be.

Screen Shot 2013-05-18 at 10.24.18 PM

Overall, I wasn’t too fond of the festival (read my official POZ review here), but all of the people who were there- from the fans to the musicians to my co-workers to my friends- made it an unforgettable day. I just feel so blessed to have the opportunity to work in environments where I am surrounded by so many passionate people who are doing what they love. It’s inspiring and makes me that much more motivated to continue to pursue my dreams. This is only the beginning, and I can’t wait to see where my journey on my career path takes me next!

tumblr_mn239zHNNk1qc1gcro1_500

This afternoon, I took the Patco into Philly with a few of my friends for the Punk Rock Flea Market. I’ve always wanted to go, but could never find a crowd so I’m glad everything worked out for me this time around. The event was hosted in a huge warehouse with various vendors. Essentially, it was like going thrift shopping but having everything from everywhere brought to you! At first, I thought I would leave empty handed, but after about 20 minutes, I was overwhelmed by all of the wonderful items up for sale!

tumblr_mn2ge7KcAX1qc1gcro1_500

Of course, I wound up buying notebooks of all the things. I simply couldn’t resist these- they were calling me from the suitcases that they were tucked away in! I plan on turning the Eloise edition into a scrapbook. (Expect more posts on that once I get  it started…) What can I say, I’m a six year-old girl trapped in a 20 year-old’s body!

“I feel unique 
Not yet complete”

Leave a Reply

