Throwback Tunesday: Hellogoodbye- Shimmy Shimmy Quarter Turn

It’s been a while since I posted one of these, but as soon as I heard that Hellogoodbye was making a comeback, I instantly knew that it was time to revive this category. Initially, I was going to use “Here (In Your Arms)” because of all the fond memories from middle school that are associated with that catchy tune, but “Shimmy Shimmy Quarter Turn” is probably my favorite Hellogoodbye song of all time. I haven’t listened to this band in a while, but yesterday I had a serious jam session.

I’m reading too into this, but for me, the whole concept of “shimmy shimmy quarter turn” is kind of like altering your perspective. You know how people constantly tell you to “turn that frown upside down” or to “shake it off” when you’re in a bad mood? Well, I prefer to apply “shimmy shimmy quarter turn” as a step in changing my attitude. Maybe if I spend less time complaining and more time entertaining, things will start working in my favor more often. After all, dancing through life is the best thing you could possibly do. (This all made sense in my head, I apologize if I can’t explain it quite as well in words…)

“Shimmy shimmy quarter turn
I feel like I will never learn
How can I check lost and found
When I’m too busy getting down”

Leave a Reply

