Throwback Tunesday: There’s Gotta Be More To Life

This song has never been more relevant in my life. Over the weekend, an anonymous person asked me a few questions on the blog I created about my summer internship. This person, an aspiring journalist, was curious about where I get my resolve to keep going and how I stay level and in touch with what I want. There was so much I wanted to say, and so much that I did say, but I still feel like it wasn’t enough. At the end of the day, what truly, deeply drives me is the concept of always wanting more. I want a better life for myself. I want to go far and succeed beyond my wildest dreams. I want to do what I love and love what I do.

In a sense, I have to play the waiting game, but I am more driven than I have ever been to go after what I want because I’m getting so much closer. Now that I have a clear vision of what I want to spend my life doing (career wise), I can’t stop reaching for it. Every glimpse, every taste of it keeps me wanting more. After hearing the Billboard Directors speak about their journeys that lead them here, I only feel more inspired to fight for my passions and find the best place to settle down into this world.  I savor every opportunity I have been given, and I dare to dream big because there’s no going back for me anymore. I have to achieve this, and in the event that I fail, at least I know that I put myself out there and tried my absolute hardest. I don’t believe in living with regrets, what ifs, and coulda shoulda wouldas.

I appreciate the friends and family who have supported me this far more than I will ever be able to express. All of you keep me grounded and I wouldn’t be comfortable putting myself in the public eye without y’all. Everybody starts at some level of the bottom, but it takes a tremendous amount of courage, determination and patience to climb all the way to the top. I am driven by my passions- the experience I gain is getting me where I need to go, but I’m still not satisfied yet.

Well, off to the Firefly Festival I go! I’ve been waiting for this weekend since the last time it ended and can’t wait to spend it with good music and good friends.

“I’ve got it all, but I feel so deprived
I go up, I come down and I’m emptier inside
Tell me what is this thing that I feel like I’m missing
And why can’t I let it go

There’s gotta be more to life
Than chasing down every temporary high to satisfy me
Cause the more that I’m
Tripping out thinking there must be more to life
Well it’s life, but I’m sure… there’s gotta be more
Than wanting more”

Leave a Reply

