Justice is never served, only prejudice.

As of now, I have no faith in the U.S. legal system. Zero respect. As a mother, a daughter, and a sister, I don’t understand how a jury of women could do this to another woman and her child. People pretend that this case was not about race, but inherently it always was. It’s more than white privilege that allowed this to happen; it’s about a blatant lack of respect for a black child. Whether or not Zimmerman felt threatened, this man single handedly took the life of a defenseless, unarmed child with no remorse, and he gets to walk away with no consequences and his gun by his side.

If you consider yourself a friend of mine and you are indifferent about this case, then you don’t care about me and my rights because this directly affects my state of well-being in this country. For the rest of my life, no matter where I go, I will always have to watch my back. Even as a woman, I am also perceived as a threat because of the color of my skin. Do you know how belittling it feels knowing that eyes are always watching me when I’m minding my own business just trying to shop at a store? I am a suspect before a crime has even been committed, and they don’t even know that I’m just another girl from the suburbs like the rest of them.

I will continue to strive for a better America. United we stand, hand in hand. I want my children to live in a world that is colorblind. If I ever have a son, I should worry about his safety as a motherly instinct, not because of his skin tone. The justice system in America is out-dated, permanently stained in black and white. We don’t live on a rainbow; we need to stop being so delusional to the inconvenient truth. Right now more than ever, Black America needs to come together and take a stand. Our voices need to be heard on all coasts. Spread the word. We are here, and we’re here to stay. Any human being can see the wrong that was done here. I refuse to sit and be silent. I never want to watch another case like this happen again.

Trayvon Martin, the court may have failed you, but I promise that we will not. This is a historical moment, and hopefully a turning point in America. I pray that everyone learns from this case and has it in their hearts to fight for a change. The time is now. Wake up for the child who never will.

You can do your part by signing the NAACP petition for the Department of Justice to file this as a civil rights case against Zimmerman.

Leave a Reply

