Ludwig B. & Me

Image

Over the weekend, I went to Arlington Cemetery in search of Ludwig Bemelmans’ grave. (For those of you who don’t know, he is the author and illustrator of the Madeline book series. I’m writing a tribute article in his honor for my final assignment in my Reporting class!) After walking around the grounds aimlessly for about 30 minutes, I finally got to Lot 43. I wasn’t sure where to start looking, but I decided to keep on moving up the hill toward a grey tree. I’m still not sure why I was drawn to this particular tree, but it wound up leading me to the right spot. I don’t know how it happened, but I’d like to believe that Ludwig Bemelmans himself guided me there. In that moment, I felt so incredibly blessed and honored to be in his presence. I was so moved that before I knew it, I was bent down on the grass, talking to Ludwig. I have never really understood life and death or the before and after, but something about being there made me feel so grounded. I may not belong to a religious institution, but I believe that a higher power exists. There has to be a greater good to keep this universe in balance. I have faith in something that can’t be explained.

Image

Leave a Reply

